Routine

What is your writing routine?
I try to write in the morning very intensely, from 8:30 to 1 p.m. When I’m traveling, I can work from 10 p.m. to 3 a.m. Alone, I don’t sleep that well. I get a lot of work done in hotel rooms. The one solace for loneliness is work. I hand write and then I type. I don’t have a word processor. I write slowly.

Are you able to read when you are writing?

I read in the evening usually. I just got back from Europe, I was reading Jane Austen on the plane. I might just be reading anything … I never waste time. I don’t watch much television. To me, wasting time isn’t in my nature. I find it difficult to understand why people would people deliberately waste their time.

Do you ever do summer beach reading?

I’d rather take poison, I’d rather chew ground glass.

*

Joyce Carol Oates

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

