The late-bloomer gets the last laugh

She told how as a youngster she was ruthlessly mocked by other kids because being starved of oxygen at birth left her with learning difficulties.

Her ordeal saw her seek comfort in singing – a talent she discovered when she was five.

Spinster Susan – who has never had a boyfriend – said: “I was born with a disability and that made me a target for bullies. I was called names because of my fuzzy hair and because I struggled in class.

“I told the teachers, but because it was more verbal than physical I could never prove anything. But words often hurt more than cuts and bruises and the scars are still there.”

The singer said: “I still see the kids I went to school with because we all live in the same area.

“They’re all grown up with children of their own. But look at me now – I’ve got the last laugh.”

She admits she regrets never finding romance and having a family of her own. She said: “I’ve never been kissed.

“If someone even pecked me on the cheek it would be nice but I’ve never even got that close. My parents didn’t want me to have boyfriends so I’ve never been on a date. I’ve had crushes but I’ve never been in love.

I suppose I’ve accepted it’s never going to happen.

“The only thing I really do regret is not having children. I love kids and would have liked to have been a mum.”

– The Mirror

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

