Ramen

I love ramen. My absolute favourite would have to be Baikohken, the joint down on North Canal Road where we would go for workday lunches every now and then. Admittedly, not everyone’s a fan of ramen. Sometimes, where I could, I would have to impose this choice of lunch on the rest of bunch. One example is by way of saying “There’s so many of us, where else can we get a table? Definitely not going to SouthBank again.”

Baikohken have frequent eater cards. One rubber stamp imprint for a bowl of ramen consumed. 10 rubber stamps = 1 free serving of gyoza!! I’ve been guardian of our communal frequent eater cards many times over and, yes, we have scored that free gyoza many times over too 🙂

In the past week, I’ve had a bit of a ramen craving and went to:-

Marutama Ra-men

6 Eu Tong Sen Street | #03-90, The Central | Tel: 6534-8090

I don’t like the noodle they use here. I’m accustomed to a fatter, softer ramen noodle. The Marutama noodle reminds me a lot of our much loved mee kia, however, I don’t prefer this angelhair variety of Singapore noodle in my noodle. I’ve heard friends say that the noodle here tastes much better in the Seven Nut soup. Maybe I should give that a shot next time instead of sticking to the same old chicken based broth.

Cute pictures adorning their walls.

About $30 a person. We had ramen, dumplings and Marutama’s unique offering of the additional serve of noodles (you know, where you have much soup left and only want more noodles). The eggs here don’t come in the basic order and need to be added seperately.

And then, in the same week, I also went to:-

Miharu Ramen
76 Robertson Quay #01-11 | Gallery Hotel Tel: 6733 8464 | Closed on Wednesdays

I chose the Tonkotsu soup base which turned out a bit heavy on the salt. Absolutely tasty though. And no complaints about the ramen noodle here. Added up to about $20 a person. Including gyoza to share.

This entry was posted in gastronomia. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ramen

  1. clara says:

    look so nice I also want to eat!!

  2. debonaire says:

    let’s go when you’re home!

  3. ren says:

    u shud try the char siew at marutama… its $4 for damn few slices. but its super shiok. more exciting than their ramen.

Leave a Reply

